Reflections On A Summer’s Breath — Lee Smith

ON A SUMMER’S BREATH

Searing flight, fey joy beneath the heaven bright

I cup my wings and rise aloft, while veering far beneath my keel

my Raja love slips by

He rises now with splayed and driving wings

and sweeps his noble head to catch my villainy.

A game she plays, so we shall see and we shall see.

I roll my belly to the sun, and over, laughing in his golden gaze

Weak you are, Rajah, a fledgling I have taken in.

Turning air to wind he rises by, higher, even higher.

Now beating strong and wild within my evil heart.

Flee, flee, and where now can he be?

And there he is again close by and touching wing on wing

He presses me! he presses me!

Over again, now upside down, a reach, and fanning sultry air a take.

Now eye to eye and claw to claw, we drift above the fields of green

Reflections on a summer’s breath.

Holding, softly drifting. My Rajah love and I

END

About Cornhusk

Ex-High-School and Community College teacher. Also have a degree in Science and Applied Science. Have worked in ship construction and now supplement my retirement by writing and revising vocational textbooks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

